A mantra, a prayer, a moment of peace

The direction of our thoughts and words we use become our day and in turn, our life. It is only in the last year and a half of studying yoga that I have become more comfortable with mantras and even welcome into my daily thoughts as I am driving to work or folding laundry. Prior to this, I felt that without the background or deep understanding of the history and meaning of a prayer or mantra, I was not deserving enough to say it. What I have realized is that prayers are meant to be available to each of us as a way to ground us and guide is in our life. Just as a botanist has no more claim or appreciation of a flower than a child observing that same flower in a garden: beauty is an experience without discrimination. One of the simplist and most felt mantras that I have found is below. I heard it for the first time almost a year ago at the beginning of a meditation. Donna, one of the wonderful teachers at Saraswati, read it over several minutes and allowed us to sit and meditate on its words over and over for 20 minutes. So, I invite you to take a comfortable seat and experience this for yourself:

May I be happy.
May I be healthy.
May I be free from anxiety.
May I manifest lovingkindness.
May I have abundance in all my affairs.

(envision someone that you care deeply about)
May you be happy.
May you be healthy.
May you be free from anxiety.
May you manifest lovingkindness.
May you have abundance in all your affairs.

(envision someone that you are currently struggling with)
May my enemies be happy.
May my enemies be healthy.
May my enemies be free from anxiety.
May my enemies manifest lovingkindness.
May my enemies have abundance in all their affairs.

(envision yourself in life, in this moment, on this planet)
May all beings be happy.
May all beings be healthy.
May all beings be free from anxiety.
May all beings manifest lovingkindness.
May all beings have abundance in all their affairs.

Leave a Reply

